The Answer to His Question Will Determine Our Fate!

​Dietrich Bonhoeffer:

“We have been silent witnesses of evil deeds; we have been drenched by many storms; we have learnt the arts of equivocation and pretence; experience has made us suspicious of others and kept us from being truthful and open; intolerable conflicts have worn us down and even made us cynical.

What we shall need is not geniuses, or misanthropes, or clever tacticians, but plain, honest, and straightforward men.

Will our inward power of resistance be strong enough, and our honesty with ourselves remorseless enough, for us to find our way back to simplicity and straightforwardness?”
__________

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Letters and Papers from Prison

Find at https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/29333.Dietrich_Bonhoeffer

About Ghoh

My name is Joe, but username Joe was already taken. I am interested in politics, religion and ideas that are off the beaten path, whatever the subject.
This entry was posted in Donald Trump and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Answer to His Question Will Determine Our Fate!

  1. Arrest Donald Trump! Or, do not ask how what Bonhoffer saw could happen, as we may well be in for far worse. I do not believe we seem to be aimlessly meandering toward a delusional “smooth transition.” That had better be an appearance, or we will watch Putin roll over Europe, and see our sons and grandsons killed in the Middle East and at home on the streets in numbers we only see in foreign news reports between advertisements. Stand Up!

    70 were shot to death in the Ukraine today, many by snipers. The BBC reports, the families were called to pick up the bodies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ghoh says:

      Although we are not yet seeing what Bonhoeffer saw, we are already at the place he describes. That the kind of people we need to be, we are not.

      I am afraid that what he saw, without a fundamental change – our agreed removal of Trump – we soon will see.

      I am extremely pessimistic, and worse, resigned. That’s my simplistic stoicism. My stoicism, without knowledge and awareness of historical or philosophical stoicism. That is why on Facebook, when the appropriate emoji is anger, I put sad.
      It is odd, but it is a strange comfort that I feel.

      But I do see the possibility of hope. Hope would be Deus ex Machina in the form of Trump himself. We need him to do or say something so outrageous a d frightening that we will all be awakensd. It’s possible. I don’t see any other way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • There is plenty of reason to arrest him now for election fraud if not treason. I keep expecting to hear it, but it does not happen, and the longer we wait, the more dangerous it becomes. I think more that half the FBI does not know who their boss is.

        Note: I fixed my “Anything” post, and apologize to anyone who tried to read the unedited version, but all that stuff really happened. I tried so hard to get Congress to oversee the FBI, and until yesterday, they just would not. Presently, people as in the Ethics Committee are literally forbidden to talk to me in particular, answering what Question at what point is election fraud an indictable offence. All this stuff, Russian money, etc, keeps coming up, and it rolls off his raincoat like the teflon Don because everyone is afraid. &0 in Ukraine are dead. Snipers is the preferred method. I reported the problem with hospitals to a “cop,” Nick Selby, who blocked me, as did Marco Rubio, and I spoke very rationally. You might visit them! Rubio said a helpful thing two days ago about Aleppo. My communications were shut down for over a day, till Congress, I think reminded the FBI who their boss was, at my direct request. The Machiavelli translator in my next blog was my main graduate professor at the University of Dallas. I missed you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

