What does it mean to be religious?

Psalm 26 – King James Version

26:1 A Psalm of David. Judge me, O LORD; for I have walked in mine integrity: I have trusted also in the LORD; therefore I shall not slide. 26:2 Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart. 26:3 For thy lovingkindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth.

26:4 I have not sat with vain persons, neither will I go in with dissemblers. 26:5 I have hated the congregation of evil doers; and will not sit with the wicked.

26:6 I will wash mine hands in innocency: so will I compass thine altar, O LORD: 26:7  That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works. 26:8 LORD, I have loved the habitation of thy house, and the place where thine honour dwelleth.

26:9 Gather not my soul with sinners, nor my life with bloody men: 26:10 In whose hands is mischief, and their right hand is full of bribes.

26:11 But as for me, I will walk in mine integrity: redeem me, and be merciful unto me. 26:12 My foot standeth in an even place: in the congregations will I bless the LORD.

This is what I hope it means!

About Ghoh

My name is Joe, but username Joe was already taken. I am interested in politics, religion and ideas that are off the beaten path, whatever the subject.
This entry was posted in Judaism, Politics, politics 2, psychology, Religion, The Election and Beyond and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What does it mean to be religious?

  1. Rana says:

    I would say your last excerpt, “in the congregations will I bless the Lord,” is all that you need to define being religious. Religion, by definition, is a community of similar belief in a creator. To be religious is simply to believe, uphold, and follow the beliefs of the social group of believers you are part of. I don’t think it needs any more explanation than that.

    Like

    • Ghoh says:

      To be religious, yes! But what of the religion? I want it to mean all the rest of the Psalm too, but unfortunately it doesn’t have to.

      Like

      • Rana says:

        Well, that’s just being Christian, then, isn’t it? 😄 I just feel it’s not fair to pose a question on religion in general and then only use ‘evidence’ of one religion to give your answer, you know?

        Like

  2. yahoothom says:

    Make sure you don’t confuse Religion for God, they are mutually exclusive. One can be disappointed with Religion, but love the Lord and maintain their Faith. God is where I put my Faith, Religion is simply a way to focus and meditate and find your way.

    Like

  3. Ghoh says:

    In my post, I conclude with my hope that this Psalm encompasses what it means to be religious, not that it must.
    The source of the Psalms is the Old Testament and this one is neither Christian or Jewish, but universal. Except for references to the Lord, all these wonderful precepts are purely ethical and I would like to find them in every religion. If all these lines were restated in the negative they would, unfortunately, still be religious.
    With regard to the Lord: Cannot the Lord be the “creator” to whom respect is given by those who “… uphold, and follow the beliefs of the social group of believers you are part of?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

